Alumni Cross Country Race

Entries for the 2022 Thames Hare & Hounds 70th Alumni Race are now open.

Calling all OC Cross Country runners – the OCA enter the five-mile true cross-country alumni race across Wimbledon Common hosted by Thames Hare and Hounds.

Join fellow Old Cats in a race against alumni from schools around the country

The team is unlimited numbers and if friends and family would like to join in the fun, they are welcome to run with you.

If you are interested representing the OCA in this event please contact


What is it? Since 1953, Thames Hare & Hounds has hosted the Alumni Race, an annual 5 mile cross-country run in which runners compete for a team of their old school.

Where is it? Thames Hare & Hounds Clubhouse, The Richardson Evans Memorial Playing Fields, Roehampton Vale, London, SW15 3PQ (what3words: ///arena.globe.unrealistic).

When is it? Saturday 17th September 2022; the race starts at 2.30pm sharp (arrive for registration and warm-up no later than 2pm).

Where can I park? There is limited parking at the Thames Hare & Hounds Clubhouse (free of charge), and further available parking at Asda Roehampton Superstore, 31 Roehampton Vale, London, SW15 3DT (also free of charge).

Who can enter? Genuine alumni of the nominated school – Caterham School. Teams can also include one woman or one man who have been bona fide members of the school staff for at least five years. Guest runners are welcome, whether partners, friends, parents, further staff, current pupils, children, but they cannot score as part of the team. Children over 11 are welcome but if under 17, they must have a responsible adult on hand.

How do I enter? To sign-up, please register with

Is it free to enter? Entry costs £7.50 per athlete – this contributes towards the use of THH’s facilities and complimentary packed lunches with tea and coffees upon finishing the race. This will be covered by the Old Caterhamians’ Association.


Last year the Old Cats Cross Country team included Eloise Bull (OC 2018), Will Rady (OC 2014), Joe Stanley (OC 2015) and Hanro Rossouw (OC 2014), pictured below.